Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Who We Serve - The Region

Arrowhead EMS Association - Northeast Regional Counties

AEMSA serves over 200 agencies including ambulance services, emergency medical responders/fire/rescue, industrial-medical, law enforcement, hospital emergency departments, air medical, training institutions, and other private individuals/agencies. In the region, approximately 80% of EMS services are provided by volunteers. According to the Minnesota EMSRB, the average primary service area in the Northeast Region covers 520.6 square miles versus the state average of 256.83.  Some areas are in excess of 50 miles from an initial ambulance contact.

Since 1985 AEMSA has acted as the lead regional EMS planning organization for Northeast Minnesota, serving the seven county region of Northeast Minnesota and Douglas County in Wisconsin.  The region consists of the following Minnesota counties:  Aitkin (15,771), Carlton (35,571), Cook (5,233), Koochiching (12,856), Itasca (45,589), Lake (10,680) and St. Louis (200,949), covering 21,214 square miles or roughly 25% of the total square mileage of Minnesota.  According to the 2014 estimated United States census, the estimated population in Northeastern Minnesota is 326,649.  AEMSA is governed by a Board of Directors with representation from all counties of the region, as well as all levels of EMS providers.

Click the images below to learn more about the counties we serve:

Aitkin CountyCarlton CountyCook CountyDouglas CountyItasca CountyKoochiching CountyLake CountySt. Louis County